Hornets, Lady Hornets win SWAC championship

Back to Article
Back to Article

Hornets, Lady Hornets win SWAC championship

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.

Email This Story

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. | Alabama State continued its dominance of the Southwestern Athletic Conference (SWAC) Friday at the SWAC Championships with both teams taking home first-place honors.

The Lady Hornets won a record 11th-straight championship with 188.5 cumulative points, besting second place Prairie View A&M by 36.5 points. The men defeated Jackson State by an even 30 points for their third-straight title, with the Hornets notching 165 total.

Alabama State head coach Ritchie Beene was named the 2019 SWAC Women’s Indoor Track and Field Coach of the Year.

Six Lady Hornets notched first-place results in their respective events Friday as Alabama State ran away with the meet.

Charminiqu Hackney starred for the Lady Hornets, picking up gold in the 60-meters (7.44 seconds) and the 200-meters (23.71). Kyana Evans picked up a first-place result in the 400-meters (55.12 seconds) and Vinnelle Grant crossed the line in first in the 800-meters behind a time of 2:16.80.

Hannah Mezidor continued the onslaught with a first-place showing in the mile run with a time of 5:19.12. Christine Lavallias (8.69 seconds) contributed the Lady Hornets’ success with a first-place time in the 60-meter hurdles. Alabama State won the distance medley by 17 seconds over Prairie View A&M as Grant, Amari Newsom, Mariyah Archibald and Arion Span led coach Ritchie Beene’s team to a first-place finish.

Marquis Nelson won the weight throw (17.03 meters) for the men while Chaaka Trahan came in third in the Heptathlon.

Ariayanna Val (8.70) picked up silver in the 60-meter hurdles to give the Lady Hornets the top-two finishers in the event. Alabama State continued to amass top-five results as Archibald (5:32.14) finished fifth in the miler and Arion Span came in fourth in the 5000-meters (19:49.29).

Norris Spike (6.76 seconds) and David East (6.77) finished second and third respectively in the 60-meter dash and Andrew Jackson grabbed bronze in the 800-meters (1:53.74), helping propel the Hornets to another title.